Battle Ground swears in councilors, selects Philip Johnson as new mayor


Four Battle Ground city councilors who won their respective elections in November were sworn in on Jan. 3, as the council appointed a new mayor who isn’t a stranger to the position.

During its Jan. 3 meeting, newcomer Troy McCoy was sworn into his position 1 seat, a news release stated. He, alongside position 5 councilor Tricia Davis, are relatively new to the council, though Davis was initially appointed by the Clark County Council in October before she won her election.

Adrian Cortes was sworn in for his second term in the position 4 seat and Cherish DesRochers for her second term in position 6.

The council also selected councilor Philip Johnson as the city’s new mayor, and DesRochers as deputy mayor, according to the release. Johnson had previously served as mayor from 2016 to 2017, as deputy mayor from 2014 to 2015 and again as deputy mayor from 2020 to 2021.

The mayor serves as a ceremonial representative for the council, the release stated, as Battle Ground has a council-manager form of government. The council appoints a city manager to serve executive functions in the city.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here