North Clark County athletes secure all-league honors


Athletes from North Clark County secured a plethora of all-league honors in basketball, swimming, gymnastics and wrestling.

Below is a roundup of the results.

4A all-league honors

Tait Spencer and Trey Spencer, from the Battle Ground Tigers boys basketball team, earned all-league honors as Tait received a spot on the first team, while Trey earned his way onto the second team.

Tait secured the position of the ninth leading scorer in points per game in the nation with 35 points per game on average. He also finished the season as the points per game leader in the state of Washington. Tait averaged 8.8 rebounds per game, 2.7 assists per game and 2.4 steals per game.

Trey finished his season with 14.3 points per game and 0.7 blocks per game.

The Battle Ground girls basketball team finished its season with a 0-6 league record and a 1-17 overall record. Senior Yvette Rosales earned second team all-league honors and the girls coach, Martha Bellcoff, was honored with the 4A Greater St. Helens League Coach of the Year award.

The Battle Ground girls wrestling team received two first team all-league honors for Isabel Brown in the 100-pound weight class and Brooke Rausch in the 155-pound weight class.

Lastly for Battle Ground, bowler Emma Johnson was honored with a spot on the first team all-league roster.

3A all-league honors

Bailey Kousonsavath, of Prairie High School, earned first team all-league for boys basketball after a great season.

The Falcons’ girls basketball team finished 11-10 overall with a dominating 6-1 league record. The girls team was well represented as Maddie Clouse and Claire Smith made the first team and Lonely Renk earned second team honors. Head coach Mike Smith received the coach of the year award.

Amir Lisichenko, Mason Frei, Alex Ford and Seth Blick, who were on the Prairie boys wrestling team, were honored on the first team in their respective weight class. Second team honors for Prairie went to James Stager, Aiden Judkins and Malik Horne.

After going 35-0 as a sophomore and winning her second state championship in the 235-pound weight class, Prairie’s Faith Tarrant earned the title of girls wrestler of the year.  Aaliyah Youngbeing was named to first team all-league, while Leilani Loza and Ella Higgins were named to the second team. The wrestling coach of the year for the 3A Greater St. Helens League was awarded to Rob Smith, of Prairie High School.

Gretchen Lane, of the Prairie High School’s girls gymnastics team, swept the first team all-league as she earned the gymnast of the year honor and was also recognized in the vault, bars, beam and floor categories. Abigale Mendoza, of Prairie, earned second team for the vault category and Celia Racanelli earned second team for the bars category for Hockinson.

In 3A boys swimming, Jack Houlahan earned two first team honors in the 200 freestyle and 500 freestyle, while Vladyslav Danylyuk earned first team in 100 back and second team in 200 IM.

Kairos Phed, Vladyslav Revutskyy, Michael Oshkader, Kairos Phed and Troy Delp also received second team honors. To go along with the first and second team awards, the swim coach of the year was awarded to Prairie High School’s Patricia Hicks.

Prairie girls bowler Kasumi Hori was named to the first team for all-league bowling honors.

2A all-league honors

Players from both the Woodland and Ridgefield boys basketball teams were honored through first and second team awards.

Beau Swett and Justin Philpot received first team honors for Woodland, while Drew Burns earned a second team honor for Woodland.

Ridgefield’s Cole Chester earned a first team honor and Sid Bryant earned a second team honor.

Woodland, Ridgefield and Hockinson were represented in the girls basketball all-league honors as well. Riley Stading, of Woodland, received a first team honor and Elizabeth Swift was named to the first team for Ridgefield. Siena Brown, of Hockinson, and sophomore Addi Stading, of Woodland, were honored on the second team.

A lot of athletes from North Clark County headlined the boys wrestling team honors in their respective weight class.

From Ridgefield, Lance Draper, Mason Townsend and Cota Stover received first team honors. The Spudders’ Gunnar Martin and Landon Draper received second team honors.

Mason Rickard and Logan Busig, both of Woodland, earned first team honors while Merek Rickard and Tyler Lyons received second team honors.

Hockinson’s Liam McKee earned wrestler of the year and also received a second team honor in the 106-pound weight class, while Jacob McKee, of Hockinson, earned a first team honor.

For girls wrestling, Jersey O’Neill, of Woodland, earned a first team honor and also made it to the Mat Classic as a sophomore this year.

Teagan Trenda from the Hockinson Hawks was also named to the first team honors.

The Hockinson Hawks boys swimming team earned quite a few all-league honors. Parker Dangleis achieved swimmer of the year and Michelle Jacobs Brown earned coach of the year for the Hawks. Parker Dangleis was named to the first team for the 50- and 100-yard freestyles, while Liam Dunn was named to the first team for the 100-yard backstroke, and Alex Wendler in 100-yard breaststroke and 200 yard IM. The relay team for the Hawks swept the honors for the 200-yard medley, 200-yard freestyle and 400-yard freestyle.

Freshman Lincoln Swift, of Ridgefield, was honored with first team for the 500-yard freestyle and second team for the 200-yard IM.

Avaa Shibley was honored on the second team for girls bowling and Spudders’ coach George Black received the coach of the year recognition.

1A all-league honors

Austin Nixon and Boston Walker, of the La Center boys basketball team, were named to the first team in the 1A Trico League, while Colby Hylton received second team honors.

La Center’s Gianna D’Emilio received an honorary selection due to injury to the first-team honors in girls basketball. Talia Wise, of La Center, was named to the second team and McKenzie Schockelt received an honorable mention as well.